Spotlight Sunday · Weekly Themes

Spotlight Sunday – Meet the Cast of 27 HOURS

SPOTLIGHT SUNDAY

 

Leah: For our Spotlight Sunday this weekend, we’ve got with us the main cast of 27 HOURS! Thanks for stopping by, y’all, I really appreciate you taking the time.

Braeden: It’s Leah!
Dahlia: He had sugar before this.
Jude: His colors are so bright, I have a headache.
Braeden: It’s not like I have a dimmer switch, buddy.
Trick: Trust me, we know.

Leah: We’re gonna try to avoid being too serious here today, so first question: favorite foods, and more specifically, favorite kind of fries?

Rumor: All of them. But with gravy.
Dahlia: Brown gravy or white gravy?
Rumor: No, I’m not falling for this again.
Nyx: Wait, what?
Rumor: No, don’t get her started!
Dahlia: The only acceptable condiment for fries is brown gravy.
Rumor: Here we go.
Jude: That sounds revolting.
Rumor: Thank you.
Jude: Everyone knows you use milkshakes.
Rumor: There’s something wrong with you.
Nyx: I like mine with hot sauce. That wasn’t the question, was it? Oh wait, no I like curly fries best.
Trick: Hey, me too, but I’m not picky with condiments. Whatever’s around. Except milkshakes. My brother is weird.
Braeden: Your mom is weird.
Trick: Your face is weird.
Dahlia: Really?

Leah: Y’all, honestly. Jude is so right, dipping fries in milkshakes is where it’s at. Okay, next! Favorite book as a kid? Could be books, comics, whatever.

Rumor: Alice in Wonderland. My mom read it to me when I was little.
Nyx: Really?
Rumor: What is she doing with her face?
Dahlia: She finds you adorable.
Rumor: …okay.
Braeden: Voltron
Trick: That explains so much.
Braeden: Giant mechanical lions!
Nyx: Bungo Stray Dogs. And I got Dahlia hooked on it shortly after we became friends.
Dahlia: Akutagawa, be still my beating heart. Yeah, I’m gonna go with that one, too.
Jude: The Princess Saves Herself In This One. I found it in the archives. It’s this really cool poetry collection from Earth.
Rumor: I don’t think I’ve read that one.
Jude: I’ll show it to you later.
Nyx: Oh my gosh.
Rumor: She’s doing it again.
Trick: Honestly, anything superheroes. I’m not picky. I’ve gone through pretty much all the comic archives from Earth, and I’m working my way through the novels.
Jude: He wants superpowers.

Leah: Oh, excellent choices, all of you! Favorite animal? And no, Braeden, automaton cats don’t count for this one. I suppose I should specify Earth animals. Do y’all have animals other than chimera and their deadly brethren? God, that sounded pretentious. Interview questions are hard…

Braeden: Listen–
Dahlia: No, stop.
Nyx: There’s this animal called a badu that we have here. I guess it’s kind of like what you guys call a meerkat? Except badus are longer–
Dahlia: And fatter.
Jude: Come in blue.
Rumor: And brown.
Trick: And yellow.
Rumor: And red.
Dahlia: Sometimes purple? But those are really only the babies.
Braeden: So really nothing like a meerkat at all.
Nyx: But they’re super cute! And I want one.

Leah: Aww, they sound adorable! Now I want one, damn…Alright, moving on. If you were on a deserted island and you could only bring 3 things and 1 person with, what and who would they be?

Braeden: 3 large suitcases to fit everyone else inside except Rumor because he’s too tall, so I guess he’s my one person.
Rumor: What exactly goes on in that head of yours?
Braeden: Okay, what’s your three things?
Rumor: A flight suit, a ship, and rocket fuel. To leave.
Braeden: And I’m your one person, right?
Rumor: Only one flight suit, bud.
Braeden: Wow. Rude.

Leah: *laughs* Harsh, Rumor. M’kay, I’m a big fan of colorful hair, so if you were to dye yours, what color would you choose? Or if that’s not your jam, what color would be cool for Nyx to dye hers next?

Braeden: Neon green!
Rumor: So everyone could see you nightside? Good plan.
Braeden: Don’t be jealous of my sense of style.
Dahlia: I think Nyx should go multi-colored like the nebula next.
Nyx: Oh, I like that idea! I could just smear the dye everywhere.
Jude: I’ve never really thought about it? Maybe red.
Rumor: Red?
Trick: Did that just come out of nowhere or…
Braeden: Wow, he blushes redder than I do.

Leah: Hey, B, don’t worry, I think you could totally rock the neon green! If you could get a tattoo right now, what would you get?

Braeden: See? Leah’s on my side. I’d get an automaton cat.
Trick: There’s a shocker. I’ve always wanted to continue my back piece. I have the nebula there now. I want to get our host planet, the moons, and our twin suns, too.
Nyx: Abuela and I have a special sign that’s just ours. I’d like that on my arm somewhere.
Jude: Another chimera on the other arm maybe.
Rumor: I’m not sure.
Braeden: You could get my face.
Rumor: I see your face enough as it is.
Dahlia: Flowers spilling down my arm from my shoulder to my wrist.

Leah: Okay, now everyone tell me one joke!

Rumor: How do astronomers organize a party?
Jude: No, please don’t.
Rumor: They planet.
Jude: Why?
Braeden: I was wondering why the ball kept getting bigger and bigger, and then it hit me.
Dahlia: This is one of the only times you’ll see Rumor lose it laughing. He can’t resist puns.
Nyx: Hey, B, where were you born?
Braeden: Sahara
Nyx: Which part?
Braeden: All of me!
Dahlia: You guys practiced that?
Trick: Past, present, and future walked into a bar. It was tense.
Jude: You are such a nerd.

Leah: Oh gods, I should’ve known better. I just played myself asking that question…Describe a perfect day or evening.

Rumor: Not being chased by monsters.
Braeden: Plus pizza!
Nyx: The bar is pretty low.

Leah: Yeahhhh…that’s pretty understandable, considering. Word association for the following: coffee, pink, tree, money, lips, star. Aaaand, go!

Dahlia: sugar, nails, climb, clothes, Nyx, light
Nyx: caramel, Abuela, cherries, shoes, Dahlia, twins
Braeden: more, suns rise, shade, equipment, talk, freedom
Rumor: black, love, tall, new, Jude, nightside
Jude: cinnamon, feelings, yellow, candles, Rumor, clear
Trick: gross, finish line, cinnamon, responsibility, no comment, sky
Braeden: Wait, no, you can’t skip one! What do you think of with lips?
Trick: no comment
Braeden: You can’t break the rules!
Trick: no comment
Jude: Don’t look at me. I’m his brother, not psychic.

Leah: Okay, okay, Trick can skip that one. It’s fine, totally fine! *clears throat* ANYWAY. I think that’s all I’ve got for you today. Thanks, again, for coming by. It’s been a pleasure. Love all y’all!

Nyx: Bye! Thank you!
Braeden: But–
Dahlia: Drop it. Bye!


To see more of these wonderful characters, be sure to pick up 27 HOURS when it releases on October 3, 2017, or preorder it today!

28526192Rumor Mora fears two things: hellhounds too strong for him to kill, and failure. Jude Welton has two dreams: for humans to stop killing monsters, and for his strange abilities to vanish.

But in no reality should a boy raised to love monsters fall for a boy raised to kill them.

Nyx Llorca keeps two secrets: the moon speaks to her, and she’s in love with Dahlia, her best friend. Braeden Tennant wants two things: to get out from his mother’s shadow, and to unlearn Epsilon’s darkest secret.

They’ll both have to commit treason to find the truth.

During one twenty-seven-hour night, if they can’t stop the war between the colonies and the monsters from becoming a war of extinction, the things they wish for will never come true, and the things they fear will be all that’s left.

27 Hours is a sweeping, thrilling story featuring a stellar cast of queer teenagers battling to save their homes and possibly every human on Sahara as the clock ticks down to zero.

 

Tristina Wright is a blue-haired bisexual with anxiety and opinions. She’s 14852052also possibly a mermaid, but no one can get confirmation. She fell in love with science fiction and fantasy at a young age and frequently got caught writing in class instead of paying attention. She enjoys worlds with monsters and kissing and monsters kissing. She married a nerd who can build computers and make the sun shine with his smile. Most days, she can be found drinking coffee from her favorite chipped mug and making up more stories for her wombfruit, who keep life exciting and unpredictable.

Still trying to figure out the mermaid thing.

Website: http://tristinawright.com/
Twitter: @TristinaWright
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TristinaMWright/
Tumblr: http://authorwrightnow.tumblr.com/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/tristina_wright/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14852052.Tristina_Wright

Leave a Reply

