First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday · Weekly Themes

First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday (May 9)

Since the Top 10 lists get long, and let’s all admit it, boring, after a while, I’m gonna start mixing in this new weekly theme so that it’s broken up a little bit.

fistchap

First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday is hosted by Diane @ Bibliophile by the Sea, and the goal is to share the first paragraph or two from the first chapter of a book you’re either currently reading or planning to read next.

I’m currently trying to work through some ARCs, so one I’m thinking about reading next is MASK OF SHADOWS by Linsey Miller! Without further ado, here are the opening lines:

29960675The thick, briny scent of sweat-soaked leather seeped through my cloth mask. A guarded carriage rattled down the road upwind of me. I leaned out of my tree and caught a flicker of light from a carriage lamp. The carriage’s blue paint shone, gilded and mud-splattered.

I groaned. “Nobles.”

The branches beneath me creaked as footsteps scraped along the bark. I flipped a knife into my palm. The sentence for robbing nobles was hanging.

But only if they caught you.

What do you think? Would you continue reading?

Leave a Reply

