Top Ten Tuesday · Weekly Themes

Top 10 Tuesday – Characters I Relate To!

TOP TEN TUESDAY

For Top 10 Tuesday this week, I’m going to share some characters I relate to!

  1. Braeden Tennant (27 Hours, Tristina Wright) – Braeden is constantly sarcastic and sassy, but knows when to be serious and loves his friends with his whole heart. He’s sometimes confused about his place and role in life, and he can be insecure but very rarely lets those insecurities shine through. He would do anything for the people he loves and has a strong urge to protect.
  2. Molly Peskin-Suso (The Upside of Unrequited, Becky Albertalli) – I want to be Molly when I grow up. She’s confident and beautiful and owns her fatness. She’s fun and energetic and yet another character who loves her family and friends with her whole heart and would do anything for them.
  3. Nick O’Flaherty (Cut & Run/Sidewinder series, Abigail Roux) – Oh. Oh Nicko, my precious baby. Nick is broken and cracked in so many different spots, taped and stitched and glued back together by his friends and his own hands. He feels like he could finally shatter at any given moment, and fuck if I don’t know how that feels. We both need to be needed, and a lot of our self-worth is based on the opinions and love from our friends, people we would do anything for. (I’m beginning to sense a pattern.)
  4. Grey Jean-Marcelin (Shatterproof, Xen Sanders) – Depression tries so hard to smother Grey and myself. Somehow we manage to come out from under and deal. Some days, I’m not sure how I do it, but I do know that Grey helped me to feel less alone.
  5. Valdrin Leka (Concourse, Santino Hassell) – My demisexual prince. I heavily identify with his struggle to find labels that fit, to feel less alone and less weird and broken. Not only that, but I see myself in his desperate need to take care of his sister and best friend, to make sure they’re cared for, even to the detriment of himself.
  6. Bailey Chen (Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge, Paul Krueger) – Bailey is the perfect epitome of the wandering millennial. She’s home after graduating college, desperate for a good job, and seemingly settles for a dead end job for the moment. That has been my state of existence for a few years now, and I hope to be able to drag myself out of that slump like Bailey did.
  7. Grace Glasser (How to Make a Wish, Ashley Herring Blake) – She’s still trying so hard to really find herself for most of the novel, and that’s something I continue to struggle with as well. (Also, there’s some more personal reasons that you can find in my review over on Just Love Reviews.)
  8. Abby (Thaw, Elyse Springer) – Abby is so comfortable in her asexuality and so am I! I strive to feel as comfortable in my skin as her, and it really helped to see a character who doesn’t feel like something is wrong with her because she’s ace-spec.
  9. Nina Zenik (Six of Crows, Leigh Bardugo) – Much like Molly, I relate to Nina because she’s fat and unapologetic about it. I try really hard to be the same way, so I use the two of them as inspiration for myself.
  10. David Butler (Sunset Park & Interborough, Santino Hassell) – Fuck if this man isn’t messy as hell. I see a lot of my insecurities and desperation in David. We both so desperately want to be loved and needed and constantly need reassurance that we aren’t about to be tossed to the side for something shinier or better.

So! These are 10 characters I relate to! Who are some of yours?

Leave a Reply

