Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Devil Next Door by Alex Jane

summary

DevilNextDoor-AlexJane-MPublisher: Self-pub
Release Date: April 19, 2019
Received From: Signal Boost Promotions

All Remy Harker wants is a fresh start. 

Well, maybe that’s what he tells himself as he rolls up to his nice new house, in the nice little neighborhood, in a town where nobody knows his name. 

He’s surrounded by friendly neighbors and a white picket fence. The ugly pink carpet might drive him to insanity, and he can’t stop wondering where the old lady who lived there before him died—but it’s nice. 

And if he puts his mind to it, he can be anything—or anyone—he wants to be. He can be nice too. 

At least, he thinks he can until he lays eyes on his next-door neighbor. 

Luke Boucher is nice. 

And quiet. 

And perfect. 

It doesn’t take long for Remy to insinuate himself into Luke’s life. A camera here, a break-in there. 

– It’s not really stalking if you love someone, is it? – 

But when Remy’s plan to make a good impression goes to hell, he ends up over his head in more ways than one. Then things aren’t quite so nice anymore. 

– It’s not really murder if you love someone, is it? –

Loving your neighbor isn’t so easy when you’re the devil next door.

*****

This book is part of CRIMINAL DELIGHTS. Each novel can be read as a standalone and contains a dark M/M romance.

Warning: These books are for adult readers who enjoy stories where lines between right and wrong get blurry. High heat, twisted and tantalizing, these are not for the fainthearted.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Devil Next Door by Alex Jane”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Keep Faith edited by Gabriela Martins

summary

47779089._SY475_Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: September 1, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the editor

Keep faith, in the broad sense of the word. It doesn’t have to be a religion, unless you want it to be. It doesn’t have to speak about the universe, unless you want it to. It doesn’t have to be about anyone but yourself. Keep faith, in other planets and other houses; be it in the face of danger, grief, or while you spread your arms and laugh. Keep faith the same way you keep hope, bright and shiny, ever present. Keep faith in all your queer, beautiful self. Because you deserve it.

This is an anthology of 14 short stories, by 14 queer authors, where faith and queerness intersect. Incidental, purposeful, we-exist-and-that’s-why queerness. And faith meaning whatever you want it to mean.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Keep Faith edited by Gabriela Martins”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Get A Life Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

summary

43092891Publisher: Avon
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Received From: NetGalley

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.
Ride a motorcycle.
Go camping.
Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
And… do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Get A Life Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: The Winter Quarters by Anna Veriani

summary

46834484._SY475_Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Release Date: October 15, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author

Snow, steam, and a second chance.

Reluctant socialite Kai has thirty-five days before his family starts shooting the next season of their reality TV show, revealing a life he’d rather keep private—and one that feels increasingly scripted. Desperately needing a break, Kai escapes to his childhood best friend Hiro Asada’s inn in rural Japan. He finds peace in the thousand-year-old hot springs, but his yearning for Hiro resurfaces at the worst time: Hiro is about to inherit the inn, and his parents expect him to marry within the year.

Hiro’s traditional family loves him for who he is, but they can’t imagine two men running the inn. Meanwhile, Kai has a TV contract his lawyer insists can’t be broken. Hiro and Kai need to think outside the box—and solve their problems before Christmas Day, when Kai’s show shoots its annual holiday special.  
Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: The Winter Quarters by Anna Veriani”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: The Sub by Brynne Seabrooke

summary

46650286._SY475_Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: August 16, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author

Sofia Flores is accustomed to only one kind of subbing: acting as a submissive. However, circumstances have thrust her into an entirely different kind of subbing—substitute teaching. While the position is far from what Sofia hoped it would be, it does bring her into contact with Noah Blackburne, a buttoned-up English teacher who happens to be a Dominant. The two of them have an undeniable chemistry that they elect to study long after the school day is over.

And Sofia is eager to engage in the sort of subbing that has nothing to do with the classroom.

Continue reading “REVIEW: The Sub by Brynne Seabrooke”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Where I Ache by Megan O’Keeffe

summary

book cover ebookPublisher: Self-pub
Release Date: June 10, 2019
Received From: Review requested by the author

Where I Ache is broken up into six chapters ranging from themes such as depression, jealousy, death, and strength. These are delicate subjects to talk about and most people avoid them because of the uncomfortable vulnerability. I’ve always written and shared my poetry with the hope that readers would relate and feel less alone. I hope you feel a sense of community to all of those connected throughout this collection.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Where I Ache by Megan O’Keeffe”

Blog Tours & Events · Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW TOUR (Excerpt + Giveaway!): Arctic Wild by Annabeth Albert

summary

43263021Publisher: Carina Press
Release Date: June 3, 2019
Received From: NetGalley / A Novel Take PR

When a plane crashes in the Alaskan wilderness, the best place to land is in the arms of a younger man…

Hotshot attorney Reuben Graham has finally agreed to take a vacation, when his plane suddenly plunges into the Alaskan wilderness.

Just his luck.

But his frustrations have only begun as he finds himself stranded with the injured, and superhot, pilot, a man who’s endearingly sociable—and much too young for Reuben to be wanting him this badly.

As the sole provider for his sisters and ailing father, Tobias Kooly is devastated to learn his injuries will prevent him from working or even making it back home. So when Reuben insists on giving him a place to recover, not even Toby’s pride can make him refuse. He’s never been tempted by a silver fox before, but something about Reuben is impossible to resist.

Recuperating in Reuben’s care is the last thing Toby expected, yet the closer they become, the more incredibly right it feels, prompting workaholic Reuben to question the life he’s been living. But when the pressure Toby’s under starts closing in, both men will have to decide if there’s room in their hearts for a love they never saw coming.

Continue reading “REVIEW TOUR (Excerpt + Giveaway!): Arctic Wild by Annabeth Albert”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Shadows You Left by Taylor Brooke & Jude Sierra

summary

41071966Publisher: Entangled
Release Date: May 20, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author / NetGalley

ERIK

The white picket fence.

The happily-ever-after.

That life was never meant for him.

For years he’s been bouncing from city to city—from one cage fight to another.

That’s his outlet. That’s pain Erik can control.

But in Seattle, everything changed.

River’s an artist.

He’s a pretty boy.

He does yoga.

Someone so soft shouldn’t be intrigued by Erik’s rough edges.

RIVER

His life was quiet. He had a simple routine.

Designing tattoos, avoiding drama. Well, mostly.

Then Erik comes along—scarred and dangerous, shrouded in mystery.

A mystery River can’t resist trying to solve.

Maybe a secret as dark as his own.

Neither of them expected a relationship so complicated, so intense.

Neither of them expected…each other.

Erik and River are both trying to escape a shadowed past.

But the thing about shadows is: the faster you run, the faster they chase you.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Shadows You Left by Taylor Brooke & Jude Sierra”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Team Phison Forever by Chace Verity

summary

44590946Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: May 15, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author

Tyson Falls is ready to get married. After being disowned by his parents, his adorably grumpy boyfriend has made cautiously optimistic Tyson embrace the concept of family again. Armed with a ring and the newest video game, Tyson has plans for the nerdiest proposal.

Life throws a wrench in Tyson’s plans when he meets someone online during a multiplayer match. Someone that makes him rethink if he’s ready to start a family—the half-sister he never knew he had.

With the harsh reminder of how messy families can be, Tyson plunges headfirst into despair. Phil doesn’t deserve to be dragged into such a terrible bond. As Tyson wades through trauma and tries to push away the concept of family, he keeps turning to the man he loves most—the person who challenges him to redefine family.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Team Phison Forever by Chace Verity”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Trans Power by Juno Roche

SUMMARY

44437095Publisher: UBC Press
Release Date: November 21, 2019
Received From: NetGalley

Leading figures from the trans and non-binary community discuss the realities and practicalities of sex and intimacy.

In the follow-up to Queer Sex, her radical guide to sex, desire and dating in the trans and non-binary community, Juno Roche pushes the boundaries of trans representation even further by moving beyond themes of intimacy, pleasure and relationships and focusing on the mechanics of sex itself. A collection of interviews with leading figures from the trans and non-binary community, they talk about the practicalities of sex as a trans person. They discuss how trans bodies can inherently bring a range of practical issues to the bedroom and explore the wonder and potential of sex when the bodies involved are not cis. Reframing the discussion of trans sex in terms of empowerment and autonomy, this is a deeply personal, honest and instructive book.

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Trans Power by Juno Roche”