Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: American Love Story by Adriana Herrera

summary

46038658._SY475_Publisher: Carina Press
Release Date: October 7, 2019
Received From: NetGalley

No one should have to choose between love and justice.

Haitian-born professor and activist Patrice Denis is not here for anything that will veer him off the path he’s worked so hard for. One particularly dangerous distraction: Easton Archer, the assistant district attorney who last summer gave Patrice some of the most intense nights of his life, and still makes him all but forget they’re from two completely different worlds.

All-around golden boy Easton forged his own path to success, choosing public service over the comforts of his family’s wealth. With local law enforcement unfairly targeting young men of color, and his career—and conscience—on the line, now is hardly the time to be thirsting after Patrice again. Even if their nights together have turned into so much more.

For the first time, Patrice is tempted to open up and embrace the happiness he’s always denied himself. But as tensions between the community and the sheriff’s office grow by the day, Easton’s personal and professional lives collide. And when the issue at hand hits closer to home than either could imagine, they’ll have to work to forge a path forward…together.

Continue reading “REVIEW: American Love Story by Adriana Herrera”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Keep Faith edited by Gabriela Martins

summary

47779089._SY475_Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: September 1, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the editor

Keep faith, in the broad sense of the word. It doesn’t have to be a religion, unless you want it to be. It doesn’t have to speak about the universe, unless you want it to. It doesn’t have to be about anyone but yourself. Keep faith, in other planets and other houses; be it in the face of danger, grief, or while you spread your arms and laugh. Keep faith the same way you keep hope, bright and shiny, ever present. Keep faith in all your queer, beautiful self. Because you deserve it.

This is an anthology of 14 short stories, by 14 queer authors, where faith and queerness intersect. Incidental, purposeful, we-exist-and-that’s-why queerness. And faith meaning whatever you want it to mean.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Keep Faith edited by Gabriela Martins”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Get A Life Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

summary

43092891Publisher: Avon
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Received From: NetGalley

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.
Ride a motorcycle.
Go camping.
Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
And… do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Get A Life Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery

summary

40651526._SY475_Release Date: October 08, 2019
Publisher: Page Street Publishing
Received from: Publisher via Netgalley 

An honest reflection on cultural identity, class, and gentrification. Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate Torrey.

On the day Torrey officially becomes a college freshman, he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he’s even made it through orientation: the bee farm his beloved uncle Miles left him after his tragic death is being foreclosed on.

Torrey would love nothing more than to leave behind the family and neighborhood that’s bleeding him dry. But he still feels compelled to care for the project of his uncle’s heart. As the farm heads for auction, Torrey precariously balances choosing a major and texting Gabriel—the first boy he ever kissed—with the fight to stop his uncle’s legacy from being demolished. But as notice letters pile up and lawyers appear at his dorm, dividing himself between family and future becomes impossible unless he sacrifices a part of himself.

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery”

Blog Tours & Events · Reviews for Already Published Books

SIDEKICK SQUAD BLOG TOUR (Part 3): Not Your Backup by CB Lee

bt_nyb banner

Hello hello, good morning, y’all!

Today, I’m super excited to be part of the blog tour for C.B. Lee’s SIDEKICK SQUAD, which was organized by the amazing CW over at The Quiet Pond!

When I signed up to be part of the tour, I decided to select the option to do a series review. Since I hadn’t yet read the first two books, I figured it would be fun! But reviewing three books for one day…ambitious, yeah? Especially when you consider that I’ve been in a reading slump since February. *lolsobs* But! I’m excited to say that I’ve managed to fulfill my obligation (yay!).

So! As part of the tour, instead of doing a single post for the series, I decided to make it an all day celebration by writing an individual review for all three books and posting them separately! And this is the final post of my blog tour stop *sad face*.

Feel free to leave some comments and share your own thoughts on the books! And be sure to check out the other stops on the tour–all linked at the end of the review posts!

Important Links!

Continue reading “SIDEKICK SQUAD BLOG TOUR (Part 3): Not Your Backup by CB Lee”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Slammed Into You by CM Valencourt

SUMMARY

44349658Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: February 21, 2019
Received From: Review requested by the author

It’s not easy hating who’s someone so goddamn hot.

Amir is a rising slam poet who wants to make it big. While he works a day job at a café, he writes poems like his life depends on it and performs at a local poetry slam every week.

When Landon, the hot new guy desperate to prove himself, joins the team, he threatens Amir’s chance to go to Nationals. Landon soon finds himself locked in a fiery battle with Amir, and they’re both out for blood.

They can’t stand each other. But when a huge fight turns from hatred to fierce passion, they can no longer ignore their attraction to each other. Now they must confront their growing feelings while they vie for the last spot on the team. Can one come out on top without losing the other?

This is the first book in the Coffee & Cardigans series, but can be read as a stand-alone. The next books will follow different couples.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Slammed Into You by CM Valencourt”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Graham’s Delicacies by Em Ali

SUMMARY

graham-delicacies-coverPublisher: Blue Latte House
Release Date: March 5, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author

Six people and three love stories all in one bakery.

Saccharine

Jen goes to work, agonizes over college, and looks forward to the stolen moments in the kitchen, where she can watch Emilie bake love into every donut, cake, and brownie. Their delicate friendship takes a step towards a budding romance. But will Jen’s impulsiveness help their romance surviving its first hurdle?

Delectable

James has never been kissed but he wants to, especially by Sam, who he can’t talk to without turning into a little jerk, and who is made of all the good stuff. Will James’ insecurity in his inexperience ever allow him to make the move to kiss the boy?

Ravenous

Alex won’t let some foodie with a video camera bash their beloved bakery, even if it means they have to be petty. Except they’re nowhere ready for Yujin, the one who got away, and the one attempting to woo them. Will Alex’s second impression of Yujin let them see the sincerity in the bashful king.

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Graham’s Delicacies by Em Ali”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Rainbow Islands by Devin Harnois

SUMMARY

35920947Publisher: October Night Publishing
Release Date: August 5, 2017
Received From: Review requested by the author

In the Christian Republic, homosexual people are given two choices—a camp to “fix” them, or exile to the distant islands populated by lesbians and gay men.

Sixteen-year-old Jason chooses exile and expects a hardscrabble life but instead finds a thriving, supportive community. While exploring his identity as a transgender boy he also discovers adventure: kraken attacks, naval battles, a flying island built by asexual people, and a daring escape involving glow-in-the-dark paint. He also has a desperate crush on Sky, a spirited buccaneer girl, but fear keeps him from expressing his feelings.

When Jason and his companions discover the Republicans are planning a war of extermination, they rally the people of the Rainbow Islands to fight back.

Shy, bookish Jason will have to find his inner courage or everything and everyone he loves will be lost forever.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Rainbow Islands by Devin Harnois”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year Volume 3

SUMMARY

38927391Publisher: Cleis Press
Release Date: December 11, 2018
Received From: Review copy from one of the authors

Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year, Volume 3 will prove to be yet another addition to this body-tingling series—the gold standard for erotic lesbian fiction. This year it journeys into the world of lesbian sex with unique and sometimes kinky stories that push lesbian lust and desire to new heights of pleasure. Edited by award-winning editor Sacchi Green, this latest edition is sensual, inventive, and utterly breathtaking.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year Volume 3”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Best Women’s Erotica of the Year Volume 4

SUMMARY

38927393Publisher: Cleis Press
Release Date: December 11, 2018
Received From: Review copy from the editor

In Best Women’s Erotica of the Year, Volume 4, award-winning editor Rachel Kramer Bussel has gathered the hottest sexy stories starring outspoken women who daringly pursue love and lust. You’ll read about a single mom who goes back to college and gets some very hands-on education from her hot professor, an Amish woman tenderly revealing her most intimate desires, and a woman who crafts the man of her dreams. From outsiders who lustily claim their place without apology to women taking the boldest of risks with their hearts and their bodies, these sizzling stories are sure to make your heart pound. Featuring stories by popular authors including Alyssa Cole, Megan Hart, Tamara Lush, Tamsen Parker, Sofia Quintero, Suleikha Snyder and Alessandra Torre, along with a variety newcomers to the genre, these tales will turn you on and stay with you long after you’ve finished.

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Best Women’s Erotica of the Year Volume 4”