ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Get A Life Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

summary

43092891Publisher: Avon
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Received From: NetGalley

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.
Ride a motorcycle.
Go camping.
Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
And… do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Get A Life Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: The Sub by Brynne Seabrooke

summary

46650286._SY475_Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: August 16, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author

Sofia Flores is accustomed to only one kind of subbing: acting as a submissive. However, circumstances have thrust her into an entirely different kind of subbing—substitute teaching. While the position is far from what Sofia hoped it would be, it does bring her into contact with Noah Blackburne, a buttoned-up English teacher who happens to be a Dominant. The two of them have an undeniable chemistry that they elect to study long after the school day is over.

And Sofia is eager to engage in the sort of subbing that has nothing to do with the classroom.

Continue reading “REVIEW: The Sub by Brynne Seabrooke”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Too Far South by Lina Langley

summary

47490379._SY475_Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: July 29, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author’s newsletter

Rio’s life isn’t perfect, but at least it’s finally getting somewhere. He has a job, no easy feat in an economy where almost everything is automated, and a partner that he’s building a life with. When masked strangers break into his Bogota-suburb apartment to hurt his mother and take something extremely valuable away from Jody, Rio’s partner. Rio needs to do something to replace what they’ve lost, but when one of his coworkers offers him the chance of a lifetime, Rio has to make a decision: is he willing to take a life for the person he loves most in the world?

Continue reading “REVIEW: Too Far South by Lina Langley”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: The Trial of Three by Lia Meyers

summary

46146600._SY475_Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Release Date: June 19, 2019
Received From: Review requested by the author

The Countess of Starfordia, a depraved succubus, terrorizes the countryside as she drains the vitality from sacrifices with her voracious carnal appetite. When Celandine’s friend-with-benefits is selected as the Countess’s next servant, Celandine volunteers in her place. A priestess-in-training, Celandine loves to submit to the will of her gods… and to play exquisitely painful games of dominance and submission. She’s confident that her faith and her sensual nature will enable her to perform whatever tasks are expected of her. 

Taken to an enchanted castle, Celandine meets the Countess’s captured pets: Tikara, a brave knight trapped in a permanent state of desire, and Wraith, a darkly beautiful warlock suffering under a mysterious curse. Even as Celandine challenges herself to endure humiliating torments at the Countess’s hands, she finds unexpected love with her fellow prisoners. Only by working together will Celandine, Tikara, and Wraith be able to break the Countess’s sensual spells.

Continue reading “REVIEW: The Trial of Three by Lia Meyers”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Algorithmic Shapeshifting by Bogi Takács

summary

44245998Publisher: Aqueduct Press
Release Date: May/June 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author

From the author’s Patreon:

This collection will include a lot of my previously published poems, some previously Patreon-exclusive poems, and some never-before-seen poems… and also a great foreword from Lisa M. Bradley!

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Algorithmic Shapeshifting by Bogi Takács”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Play It Again by Aidan Wayne

SUMMARY

43263026Publisher: Carina Press
Release Date: April 22, 2019
Received From: NetGalley

The videos are fun.

But it’s the host who has him coming back for more…

When Seattle-based blind YouTuber Dovid Rosenstein finds Sam Doyle’s Let’s Play channel, playitagainsam, he’s instantly captivated by the Irish gamer. Everything about Sam is adorable, from his accent to his personality, and Dovid can’t get enough of his content.

Dovid’s glowing shout-out on Don’t Look Now, his own successful channel, sends Sam’s subscriber numbers skyrocketing overnight. He has more comments than he can read. And while the sudden surge in popularity is anxiety inducing, Sam decides it’s only right to dedicate his next episode to Dovid…which soon leads to a heart-pounding exchange of DMs.

They may have never met in person, but Dovid’s never felt this close to anyone before. What they have feels worth exploring—no matter the distance. But is it possible to already be in love with someone who’s half a world away?
Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Play It Again by Aidan Wayne”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Werecockroach by Polenth Blake

SUMMARY

39172065Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: March 31, 2018
Received From: Review copy from the author

Rin moves into a new flat on the day the aliens arrive. Their new flatmates are laid-back Sanjay and conspiracy theorist Pete. It doesn’t take long to notice some oddities about the pair, like hoarding cardboard and hissing at people when they’re angry. Something strange is going on, but it’s not all due to the aliens.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Werecockroach by Polenth Blake”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year Volume 3

SUMMARY

38927391Publisher: Cleis Press
Release Date: December 11, 2018
Received From: Review copy from one of the authors

Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year, Volume 3 will prove to be yet another addition to this body-tingling series—the gold standard for erotic lesbian fiction. This year it journeys into the world of lesbian sex with unique and sometimes kinky stories that push lesbian lust and desire to new heights of pleasure. Edited by award-winning editor Sacchi Green, this latest edition is sensual, inventive, and utterly breathtaking.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year Volume 3”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Nine of Swords Reversed by Xan West

SUMMARY

Nine-of-Swords-Reversed-coverPublisher: Self-pub
Release Date: December 31, 2018
Received From: Review copy from the author

Dev has been with xyr service submissive Noam for seven years and xe loves them very much. Dev and Noam have built a good life together in Noam’s family home in Oakland, where they both can practice their magecraft, celebrate the high holidays in comfort, support each other as their disabilities flare, and where Noam can spend Shabbos with their beloved family ghost.

But Dev’s got a problem: xe has been in so much arthritis pain recently that xe has not been able to shield properly. As an empath, no shielding means Dev cannot safely touch Noam. That has put a strain on their relationship, and it feels like Noam is pulling away from xym. To top it off, Dev has just had an upsetting dream-vision about xyrself and Noam that caused one of the biggest meltdowns xe has had in a while. It’s only with a timely tarot reading and the help of another genderfluid mage that Dev is able to unpack the situation. Can xe figure out how to address the issues in xyr relationship with Noam before everything falls apart?

Continue reading “REVIEW: Nine of Swords Reversed by Xan West”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Untouchable by Talia Hibbert

SUMMARY

Untouchable-fPublisher: Self-pub
Release Date: August 11, 2018
Received From: Review copy as part of the author’s ARC team

What happens when a bad boy becomes a man?

Nate Davis didn’t plan on returning to his hateful hometown. But then, he didn’t plan on being widowed in his twenties, or on his mother getting sick, either. Turns out, life doesn’t give a f$*k about plans.

Hannah Kabbah thought her career in childcare was over. After all, no-one wants a woman with a criminal damage conviction watching their kids. But when her high school crush returns to Ravenswood with two kids in tow, Hannah gets the second chance she never dreamed of.

She also gets to know Nate – the real Nate. The one whose stony exterior hides aching vulnerability. Who makes her smile when she wants to fall apart. Who is way, way more than the bad boy persona he earned so long ago, and way too noble to ever sleep with the nanny.

So it’s a good thing she’s completely over that teenage crush, right?
Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Untouchable by Talia Hibbert”