Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Keep Faith edited by Gabriela Martins

summary

47779089._SY475_Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: September 1, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the editor

Keep faith, in the broad sense of the word. It doesn’t have to be a religion, unless you want it to be. It doesn’t have to speak about the universe, unless you want it to. It doesn’t have to be about anyone but yourself. Keep faith, in other planets and other houses; be it in the face of danger, grief, or while you spread your arms and laugh. Keep faith the same way you keep hope, bright and shiny, ever present. Keep faith in all your queer, beautiful self. Because you deserve it.

This is an anthology of 14 short stories, by 14 queer authors, where faith and queerness intersect. Incidental, purposeful, we-exist-and-that’s-why queerness. And faith meaning whatever you want it to mean.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Keep Faith edited by Gabriela Martins”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Get A Life Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

summary

43092891Publisher: Avon
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Received From: NetGalley

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.
Ride a motorcycle.
Go camping.
Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
And… do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Get A Life Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: An Odd Little Girl by JM Dabney

summary

47808087._SY475_Publisher: Self-pub (as part of the Dirty Daddies anthology)
Release Date: August 30, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author

Donavan Chase had his eye on his best friend’s secretary for a year, but the odd, little girl seemed terrified of him. He couldn’t change his rough looks or guttural voice. How the hell was he going to make her his if she hid every time he was around? Desperate times called for desperate measures. All he had to do was convince his best friend to let him borrow her, just a week and he could convince her to be his.

Continue reading “REVIEW: An Odd Little Girl by JM Dabney”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Graham’s Delicacies by Em Ali

SUMMARY

graham-delicacies-coverPublisher: Blue Latte House
Release Date: March 5, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author

Six people and three love stories all in one bakery.

Saccharine

Jen goes to work, agonizes over college, and looks forward to the stolen moments in the kitchen, where she can watch Emilie bake love into every donut, cake, and brownie. Their delicate friendship takes a step towards a budding romance. But will Jen’s impulsiveness help their romance surviving its first hurdle?

Delectable

James has never been kissed but he wants to, especially by Sam, who he can’t talk to without turning into a little jerk, and who is made of all the good stuff. Will James’ insecurity in his inexperience ever allow him to make the move to kiss the boy?

Ravenous

Alex won’t let some foodie with a video camera bash their beloved bakery, even if it means they have to be petty. Except they’re nowhere ready for Yujin, the one who got away, and the one attempting to woo them. Will Alex’s second impression of Yujin let them see the sincerity in the bashful king.

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Graham’s Delicacies by Em Ali”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Belly Up by Eva Darrows

SUMMARY

35128563Publisher: Inkyard Press
Release Date: April 30, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author

When 16 year old Serendipity Rodriguez attends a house party to celebrate the end of sophomore year, she has no intention of getting drunk and hooking up with a guy she’s just met, let alone getting pregnant. To make matters worse, she has no way of contacting the father and she and her mother are about to move to a new town and in with her grandmother.

It’s hard enough to start your junior year as the new kid in school, but at 5-months pregnant it’s even harder. So when Sara meets Leaf, who asks her out and doesn’t seem to care that she’s pregnant, she finds herself falling.

Juggling the realities of a pregnancy with school and a new relationship are hard enough, but when Jack, the father of her baby, turns back up, Sara’s life goes from complicated to a complete mess. With the help of her overbearing mother and grandmother, Sara will learn to navigate life’s challenges and be ready for anything, as she prepares for the birth of her baby.

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Belly Up by Eva Darrows”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year Volume 3

SUMMARY

38927391Publisher: Cleis Press
Release Date: December 11, 2018
Received From: Review copy from one of the authors

Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year, Volume 3 will prove to be yet another addition to this body-tingling series—the gold standard for erotic lesbian fiction. This year it journeys into the world of lesbian sex with unique and sometimes kinky stories that push lesbian lust and desire to new heights of pleasure. Edited by award-winning editor Sacchi Green, this latest edition is sensual, inventive, and utterly breathtaking.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year Volume 3”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Nine of Swords Reversed by Xan West

SUMMARY

Nine-of-Swords-Reversed-coverPublisher: Self-pub
Release Date: December 31, 2018
Received From: Review copy from the author

Dev has been with xyr service submissive Noam for seven years and xe loves them very much. Dev and Noam have built a good life together in Noam’s family home in Oakland, where they both can practice their magecraft, celebrate the high holidays in comfort, support each other as their disabilities flare, and where Noam can spend Shabbos with their beloved family ghost.

But Dev’s got a problem: xe has been in so much arthritis pain recently that xe has not been able to shield properly. As an empath, no shielding means Dev cannot safely touch Noam. That has put a strain on their relationship, and it feels like Noam is pulling away from xym. To top it off, Dev has just had an upsetting dream-vision about xyrself and Noam that caused one of the biggest meltdowns xe has had in a while. It’s only with a timely tarot reading and the help of another genderfluid mage that Dev is able to unpack the situation. Can xe figure out how to address the issues in xyr relationship with Noam before everything falls apart?

Continue reading “REVIEW: Nine of Swords Reversed by Xan West”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Best Women’s Erotica of the Year Volume 4

SUMMARY

38927393Publisher: Cleis Press
Release Date: December 11, 2018
Received From: Review copy from the editor

In Best Women’s Erotica of the Year, Volume 4, award-winning editor Rachel Kramer Bussel has gathered the hottest sexy stories starring outspoken women who daringly pursue love and lust. You’ll read about a single mom who goes back to college and gets some very hands-on education from her hot professor, an Amish woman tenderly revealing her most intimate desires, and a woman who crafts the man of her dreams. From outsiders who lustily claim their place without apology to women taking the boldest of risks with their hearts and their bodies, these sizzling stories are sure to make your heart pound. Featuring stories by popular authors including Alyssa Cole, Megan Hart, Tamara Lush, Tamsen Parker, Sofia Quintero, Suleikha Snyder and Alessandra Torre, along with a variety newcomers to the genre, these tales will turn you on and stay with you long after you’ve finished.

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Best Women’s Erotica of the Year Volume 4”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: From the Ashes by CM Valencourt

SUMMARY

41884695Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: October 9, 2018
Received From: Review requested by the author

Hunter and Derek are at a fork in the road…

At their friend Justin’s funeral, once-best-friends Derek and Hunter meet again almost four years after their monumental falling out. Hunter kissed Derek, and Derek freaked out and chose a college on the other side of the country.

If they had a choice, both of them would walk away and never see the other again. Except Justin has given them a mission: an epic road trip to scatter his ashes all over the Midwest, complete with cryptic notes, new friends, and a whole lot of sexual tension. Can Derek and Hunter finish Justin’s road trip without ripping each other’s heads—or clothes—off?

Continue reading “REVIEW: From the Ashes by CM Valencourt”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Touch Up by Katey Hawthorne & JA Rock

SUMMARY

41220246Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: October 15, 2018
Received From: Rose & Thorns Reviewer List

Last year, twenty-three-year-old actress Dina Gilbert snagged the lead in the summer’s biggest blockbuster. It wasn’t easy: she’s black, openly queer, and has actual curves she refuses to let people Photoshop. Now, overwhelmed by sudden fame and homesick for Georgia, she’s becoming someone she doesn’t recognize. Maybe that’s why she’s out partying her face off most nights.

Enter Colleen Thomas, an ex-model turned photo editor whose issues with her own body are only surpassed by her issues with other peoples’. Colleen knows the rules but Photoshops Dina’s magazine cover anyway, incurring the wrath of Dina and her fans. And, okay, maybe that cover image was unbelievably sexy even before Colleen’s alterations. So what? Dina’s not fooling anyone with that girl-next-door, I-eat-Snickers-in-my-Golden-Globes-dress BS. Colleen knows a train wreck when she sees one.

Tensions rise even more when Colleen and Dina have to work together at the Rose Social Club’s annual charity gala. When they realize they have something in common, no one is more surprised than they are. The sexual chemistry doesn’t hurt either. Their differences could either be a source of strength—a life raft in the heaving waters of Hollywood—or the makings of a titanic crash.

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Touch Up by Katey Hawthorne & JA Rock”