Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Keep Faith edited by Gabriela Martins

summary

47779089._SY475_Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: September 1, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the editor

Keep faith, in the broad sense of the word. It doesn’t have to be a religion, unless you want it to be. It doesn’t have to speak about the universe, unless you want it to. It doesn’t have to be about anyone but yourself. Keep faith, in other planets and other houses; be it in the face of danger, grief, or while you spread your arms and laugh. Keep faith the same way you keep hope, bright and shiny, ever present. Keep faith in all your queer, beautiful self. Because you deserve it.

This is an anthology of 14 short stories, by 14 queer authors, where faith and queerness intersect. Incidental, purposeful, we-exist-and-that’s-why queerness. And faith meaning whatever you want it to mean.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Keep Faith edited by Gabriela Martins”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Get A Life Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

summary

43092891Publisher: Avon
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Received From: NetGalley

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.
Ride a motorcycle.
Go camping.
Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
And… do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Get A Life Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Radiant Souls by Lenee H

summary

31hhhEz4DwLPublisher: Self-pub
Release Date: July 12, 2019
Received From: Review requested by the author

Radiant Souls is the second collection of poetry written by Lenee H. It explores topics of healing, love, identity and self-worth. The book contains sapphic themes and includes pieces using gender neutral language.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Radiant Souls by Lenee H”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Where I Ache by Megan O’Keeffe

summary

book cover ebookPublisher: Self-pub
Release Date: June 10, 2019
Received From: Review requested by the author

Where I Ache is broken up into six chapters ranging from themes such as depression, jealousy, death, and strength. These are delicate subjects to talk about and most people avoid them because of the uncomfortable vulnerability. I’ve always written and shared my poetry with the hope that readers would relate and feel less alone. I hope you feel a sense of community to all of those connected throughout this collection.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Where I Ache by Megan O’Keeffe”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: American Dreamer by Adriana Herrera

SUMMARY

42983586Publisher: Carina Press
Release Date: March 4, 2019
Received From: NetGalley

No one ever said big dreams come easy

For Nesto Vasquez, moving his Afro-Caribbean food truck from New York City to the wilds of Upstate New York is a huge gamble. If it works? He’ll be a big fish in a little pond. If it doesn’t? He’ll have to give up the hustle and return to the day job he hates. He’s got six months to make it happen—the last thing he needs is a distraction.

Jude Fuller is proud of the life he’s built on the banks of Cayuga Lake. He has a job he loves and good friends. It’s safe. It’s quiet. And it’s damn lonely. Until he tries Ithaca’s most-talked-about new lunch spot and works up the courage to flirt with the handsome owner. Soon he can’t get enough—of Nesto’s food orof Nesto. For the first time in his life, Jude can finally taste the kind of happiness that’s always been just out of reach.

An opportunity too good to pass up could mean a way to stay together and an incredible future for them both…if Nesto can remember happiness isn’t always measured by business success. And if Jude can overcome his past and trust his man will never let him down.

Continue reading “REVIEW: American Dreamer by Adriana Herrera”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Will You Still Love Me If I Love Her by Elfie

SUMMARY

44157095Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: February 27, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author

This is a debut poetry chapbook about a woman’s experiences with same-sex attraction and accepting her queer identity. It explores self-discovery and the fear of being rejected by family and friends through 18 poems, three of which have been published in online literary magazines.

This sapphic collection features poems ‘Attraction’ and ‘Fraud’ first published by Royal Rose Magazine and ‘TV’ featured in Issue 3 of Constellate Literary Journal.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Will You Still Love Me If I Love Her by Elfie”

ARC Reviews · Weekly Themes

ARC REVIEW: Goddess of the Hunt by Shelby Eileen

SUMMARY

6x9_BW_110frontPublisher: Self-pub
Release Date: February 20, 2019
Received From: Review copy from the author

A poetry collection about the mythic life of Artemis, Greek Goddess of the hunt. Told through the perspective of Artemis herself with the contributions of a few other Greek Goddesses. This collection reimagines and follows Artemis navigating her lifelong vow of chastity and, rather than suffering through it, owning it as a facet of her aromanticism and asexuality. Immerse yourself in a cultivated tempest of poems illustrating Artemis as a warrior, whose shoulders have known an excessive weight of responsibility, and who always fights to remain her authentic self among people who would change her.

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Goddess of the Hunt by Shelby Eileen”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Love Blooms by Stephanie Hoyt

SUMMARY

42836148Publisher: NineStar Press
Release Date: December 10, 2018
Received From: Review requested by the author

Nico Hamurişi is the one and only son of Santa Claus. All his life, Nico has known he’s expected to fall in love and find lifelong commitment by the Christmas of his thirtieth year—like every other heir before him. But knowing and accepting are vastly different things, and as the final countdown begins, Nico has yet to embrace his fate. His once great enthusiasm for eventually becoming Santa has been dimmed by uncertainty over how the Santa Line will be affected when he marries a man.

With only a year left, will Nico have time to find love and commitment all while learning how magic will transform the family line to accommodate who he is and who he loves?

Continue reading “REVIEW: Love Blooms by Stephanie Hoyt”

ARC Reviews

ARC REVIEW: Thrall by Avon Gale & Roan Parrish

SUMMARY

41570429Publisher: Philtre Press
Release Date: September 27, 2018
Received From: A Novel Take PR

Dating Sucks & Love Bites

Happy couple Mina Murray and Lucy Westenra have begun to garner national attention for their quirky New Orleans true-crime podcast, Shadowcast. When Lucy’s brother Harker disappears while researching the popular new dating app Thrall, they’re thrown into a real-life mystery. Aided by their social media expert, Arthur, and Harker’s professor, Van Helsing, they follow the trail, hoping to find Harker before it’s too late.

When their investigation crosses the path of a possible serial killer, the line between fantasy and reality begins to blur. And as they race against the app’s countdown clock, so does the line between friendship and love. What starts as a flirtatious rivalry between computer-savvy Arthur and techno-averse Van Helsing becomes much more, and Mina and Lucy’s relationship is tested in the fires of social media.

As they get down to the wire, the group discovers that nothing on their screens is as it seems—including their enemy.

A modern retelling of Bram Stoker’s Dracula.

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: Thrall by Avon Gale & Roan Parrish”

Reviews for Already Published Books

REVIEW: Calling Calling Calling Me by Natasha Washington

SUMMARY

40961551Publisher: Self-pub
Release Date: September 4, 2018
Received From: A Novel Take PR

Patrick Mahoney has one goal in mind: get out of his native Fresno and find freedom in the rainbow and glitter-painted streets of San Francisco. As a college freshman, he’s sure he’ll finally have the chance to be himself, away from the judgmental eyes of his conservative hometown.

Josh Dirda’s never wanted to be tied down before, preferring the emotional ease of the one night stand. But when Patrick moves into the apartment that Josh shares with three friends, Josh is pulled in by Patrick’s sly wit and quietly creative spirit. As Patrick’s self-appointed tour guide, Josh can be Patrick’s introduction to the city he loves. But after a drunken Halloween hook-up crosses lines, Patrick and Josh must reckon with their true feelings—and decide whether they can let go of the ghosts from their pasts that haunt them.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Calling Calling Calling Me by Natasha Washington”